The Kubrick Hurdle

A couple of weeks ago, I got an amazing invitation to watch/discuss 2001: A Space Odyssey with our neighbor.  I always jump at the chance to talk about my favorite movie, and all of the crazy depth that it entails, but this time it was extra special. It was the first time I was able to talk through the entire thing and a) not come down with an incredible migraine and/or b) not end up exhausted or frustrated, with the audience falling somewhere between those two points as well. It’s a challenge, and it’s especially difficult to keep the attention of someone while they’re also trying to pay attention to the very confusing subject matter; aka the heaviest film of all time. It’s something I very much understand, and it’s also the reason why I switched over to The Shining– which my neighbor and I eventually watched and discussed as well. Even then, it’s still hard to maintain a steady flow of interjecting commentary over some very layered information.

I am super pleased to announce how that is no longer the case.

I’m going to do my best and try to relay to you the wonderment of this milestone, because it is a doozy. My brain has tackled the unyielding challenge of absorbing this dense information, and then achieved the ability to explain it in a way that is not pretentious, condescending, or alienating! A MAJOR ACHIEVEMENT.

 

Part of the reason why this project has taken such an arduously long journey is because of my need to not only understand this huge mass of information, but also to explain it in a way that anyone could understand. Especially the majority of anyones that have no idea what semiotics is (you know, the study of signs and symbols and their use or interpretation, of course!). I may not be entirely there, but I am so much closer now than I was five years ago; and I am finally seeing the progress. Perhaps this means I’m much closer than I thought we were in the grand scheme of things; which would be the greatest milestone of all.

2 thoughts on “The Kubrick Hurdle

Leave a Reply

