Weirdos are Awesome! (I am a lifelong member)

 

somuchawesomeness_WEIRDOS

 

I’ve always been weird. I see crooked yellow teeth instead of first seeing the Batman symbol. I give inanimate objects, animals, plants, typefaces – and a multitude of other things– silly voices complete with personalities. I flourished when I went to art school, surrounded by other weirdos and I’ve thrived since I’ve struck out on my own, and it’s been a lot of fun (but not easy).

While I mentor people on embracing their individuality and making a career out of it, and nurture my clients as they pursue their own passionate career for themselves, I still can find myself waffling on whether it’s better to be a weirdo on the fray or a regular fit in trying to be special.

This morning I read an article that destroyed all possibilities of future waffling. Of course I was driven to the awesome title, being a weirdo, I do love hearing tales of other weirdy’s successes, but this article was more than that. It’s a cheering manifesto for all of us wonks in the world, and how being wonky/weird/off-kilter/GENUINELY quirky (ugh hipsterdom has ruined this word for me) is a wholly positive (albeit it mainly ridiculous) trait.

 

Weirdos see the world as a blank slate for them to paint their masterpiece. Forget marching to their own drums. They make up their own instruments. Forget thinking outside the box. They don’t see boxes. They see circles and horizons and trapezoids.

Weirdos don’t see anything as impossible. Anything is possible. Just give us enough time.

Weirdos are contrarians. They think differently and act even more differently. Normals try to fit in. Weirdos stick out without really trying.

Weirdos aren’t driven by money. Money is a destination. Weirdos are all about the journey.

Weirdos don’t care what others think. They only care THAT they think and want to change HOW they think.

Weirdos come in all shapes and sizes, colors and countries. And they’re not new to the tech industry, or industry in general.

Weirdos thought it made sense to get on the Mayflower from England to settle in a new land.

Weirdos thought we should get rid of slavery.

Weirdos insisted that women should also have a vote.

The world would suck if it weren’t for weirdos.

Instead of trying to get our kids to fit in, we should help them celebrate why they are different.

Let’s start to teach kids to embrace weird. Weird is good.

And let’s not stop until weird is normal.

Be sure to read (ABSORB!) this article from top to bottom, but from the soles of my feet to the tip of my crown chakra, I am so grateful for these words.
It’s these ideas that scrub away all of the hurt from bullying, frustration, fear and anger from wanting so desperately to be something that you’re not, and I am all to happy to save over that old file with this updated new version. beep boop dotbop, jne OUT.
*this amazingly awesome photo was taken on Halloween, when Jake and I went as who else? Jan and Wayne Skylar! Probably my most favorite Halloween ever, even though most people mistook me for an elderly Chinese woman. What can I say? I like stylish things!

2 thoughts on “Weirdos are Awesome! (I am a lifelong member)

Leave a Reply

