The Kubrick Project: Work & Play dissected

If you’re like everyone and their mother, when you think of The Shining you probably think of “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”. While potentially used by Kubrick simply to throw in an appropriate proverb (he used a different one for each language the film was translated), it also breaks out curiously across the film.

I’ve dissected this  to show how the different iterations of ‘play’ and ‘work’ function in the literal and metaphorical sense, and thought it’d be interesting to share. I’m currently deep within the trenches of a very exciting redesign/revamp (because my plate is never too full!), so regular Kuby time is on pause, but needed to get this out. I’m serious. This chart has been gnawing at me for days.

Because it’s not a chronological chart, I can’t piece it in any sort of manageable chunks. So you’ll be dealing with a long strip; but it’s totally worth it.

No really.

TKP_GeometricProofs_Play

6 thoughts on “The Kubrick Project: Work & Play dissected

    1. Wow thank you so much! WordPress is seriously wonky when it comes to large image — and this chart didn’t lend itself well to “chunking”— but if you click on the image it will open and have a resolution link (2408 x 4935) which will open a THIRD TIME! and full size..

      I realize having to write instructions is pointless (and tedious!), so I’d be happy to email you the jpg so you could peruse*

      *applies to anyone else also having this issue

      1. Thanks! Now that I’ve had a chance to check it out, I can see that it’s a really cool breakdown. Initially I was intrigued by the chart’s visual aspects – I can see using this to display some kind of story, experience, journey or other qualitative data, chronological or categorical. I really like the circle images, too. Bookmarking so I can reference it in the future!

      2. Thank you (again!) I’m essentially using these to create the database of content for an extensive interactive experience. I’ve also got my hands on a qualitative/quantitative analyzer, so I’ll be including charts on those too 😉 I wanted to see the probability of one set of images/information vs another; or the prevalence of one narrative over the ones. Never realized in my design life I’d be getting so deep into this, but few things leave me as fulfilled 🙂 Super appreciate the support!

      3. Sounds really cool. Which qual/quant analysis tool are you using? If you ever want to chat about the research side of things, let me know! I’ve been really into alternative ways to visualize data and tell stories as of late, so thanks for the inspiration. Which software did you use for this one?

Leave a Reply

